List of bodies we regulate

The Commissioner regulates appointments to the following bodies:

Department of Agriculture, Environment & Rural Affairs (DAERA)

  • Agricultural Wages Board for NI
  • Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute
  • Council for Nature Conservation and the Countryside
  • Fishery Harbour Authority (NI)
  • Livestock and Meat Commission for NI

Department for Communities (DfC)

  • Architecture & Built Environment Ministerial Advisory Group for NI
  • Armagh Observatory & Planetarium Board of Governors
  • Armagh Observatory & Planetarium Management Committee
  • Arts Council of NI
  • Charities Advisory Committee
  • Charity Commission for NI
  • Historic Buildings Council
  • Historic Monuments Council
  • Libraries NI
  • Local Government Staff Commission
  • National Museums NI
  • NI Local Government Officers’ Superannuation Committee
  • NI Museums Council
  • NI Housing Executive Board
  • Sport NI
  • Ulster Supported Employment Ltd

Department of Education (DE)


  • Comhairle Na Gaelscolaiochta
  • Council for Catholic Maintained Schools
  • Diocesan Education Committees of the Council for Catholic Maintained Schools
  • Education Authority
  • General Teaching Council for NI
  • NI Council for Integrated Education
  • NI Council for the Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment
  • Youth Council for NI

Department for the Economy (DfE)

  • Certification Officer for NI
  • CITB – Construction Skills NI
  • Consumer Council
  • Governing Bodies of Further Education Colleges
    Belfast Metropolitan College
    Northern Regional College
    North West Regional College
    South Eastern Regional College
    Southern Regional College
    South West College
  • Health & Safety Executive
  • Invest NI
  • Labour Relations Agency
  • NI Screen
  • St Mary's University College
  • Stranmillis University College
  • Tourism NI

Department of Finance (DoF)

  • NI Authority for Utility Regulation
  • NI Building Regulations Advisory Committee
  • NI Statistics Advisory Committee

Department for Infrastructure (DfI)

  • Belfast Harbour Commissioners
  • Drainage Council for Northern Ireland
  • Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners
  • NI Transport Holding Company
  • NI Water
  • Warrenpoint Harbour Authority

Department of Health (DoH)

  • Business Services Organisation
  • Health and Social Care Board
  • Health and Social Care Trusts
    Belfast HSC Trust
    Western HSC Trust
    Southern HSC Trust
    Northern HSC Trust
    South Eastern HSC Trust
  • NI Ambulance Service Trust
  • NI Blood Transfusion Service 
  • NI Fire and Rescue Service
  • NI Guardian Ad Litem Agency
  • NI Medical and Dental Training Agency
  • NI Practice and Education Council for Nursing and Midwifery
  • NI Social Care Council
  • Patient and Client Council
  • Public Health Agency
  • Regulation and Quality Improvement Authority
  • Safeguarding Board for NI

Department of Justice (DOJ)

  • Criminal Justice Inspection NI
  • NI Policing Board
  • NI Police Fund
  • Office of the Police Ombudsman for NI
  • Probation Board NI
  • Royal Ulster Constabulary George Cross Foundation
  • NI Law Commission
  • Advisory Committee on Justices of the Peace
  • Independent Assessor of Police Service of Northern Ireland Recruitment Vetting

The Executive Office

  • Commissioner for Children and Young People
  • Commissioner for Older People
  • Commission for Victims and Survivors for NI
  • Ilex Urban Regeneration Company Ltd
  • Maze/Long Kesh Development Corporation
  • NI Judicial Appointments Commission
  • Office of the Police Ombudsman for NI
  • Strategic Investment Board Limited